Artist Talks – The Starn Twins

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Doug and Mike are fine arts artists based in America. They are also identical twins. From what I have researched, the majority of their work explores the correlation between humans and the surrounding nature.

Absorption + Transmission refers to leaves, trees and photographs absorbing light. They express the idea that in almost any culture in the world light is used as a metaphor for thought, knowledge and intelligence and use this metaphor as a foundation for their work.

You can see clearly within their work that nature and the processes of nature are the main influence for them, they show not only our connection to nature as a whole, but their own personal connection. To me, I can see that they have been incorporating scientific research within their body of art, and portrayed it within an abstract and fine arts form. Although it is not a style of work I identify with I do however like it and the concept behind it. Despite being abstract, the average person could still identify their strong concept within their work as. However, after reading the artists notes I feel that their concept isn’t strongly put together and they could better explain it, but I also understand that the art they create is subjective, so it’s about the ideas you personally take from the artwork despite the concept.

 

Leave a comment